SOUTH ALABAMA RURAL PLANNING ORGANIZATION (RPO)

Contact: Tom Piper, Senior Transportation Planner South Alabama Regional Planning Commission Post Office Box 1665 Mobile, Alabama 36633 (251) 433-6541

General Board Information:

RPO seeks to establish a transportation planning process in the rural areas of South Alabama comprising the areas of Mobile County (AL), Baldwin County (AL) and Escambia County (AL), which are not included in the Mobile County Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Study Area.

Member Governments in the RPO are: Baldwin County Commission, Escambia County Commission, Mobile County Commission, City of Gulf Shores, City of Orange Beach, City of Bay Minette, City of Daphne, City of Fairhope, City of Foley, City of Robertsdale, Town of Silverhill, Town of Magnolia Springs, City of Spanish Fort, Town of Summerdale, Town of Elberta, Town of Loxley, City of Brewton, City of East Brewton, Town of Flomaton, City of Atmore, Town of Riverview, Town of Pollard, Town of Dauphin Island, Town of Mount Vernon, City of Citronelle, Poarch Band of Creek Indians, MOWA Baldwin of Choctaw Indians and the Alabama Department of Transportation.

Policy Committee

Baldwin County Commission designates the Chairman of the Baldwin County Commission to the 'Policy Committee' of the RPO for service during the respective term of office for each Chairman of the Baldwin County Commission. Any member of the "Policy Committee," as designated by the Baldwin County Commission, must be a Baldwin County Commissioner.

Technical / Citizens Advisory Committee

Baldwin County Commission designates the Baldwin County Planning Director, Baldwin County Engineer and Baldwin County Regional Area Transit System Director to the 'Technical / Citizens Advisory Committee' of the RPO for their respective service during each person's tenure in such position.

Baldwin County Commission appoints one (1) citizen to the 'Technical / Citizens Advisory Committee' to a two (2) year term. The Baldwin County Commission can appoint any combination of staff or citizens and place the length of terms for each as they deem appropriate or change the combination thereof.

MEMBERS	APPOINTED/REAPPOINTED	TERM OF OFFICE	EXPIRATION DATE
Commissioner Billie Jo Underwood, Chairman	Appointed 11/07/2023 to replace	*	11/04/2024
312 Courthouse Square, Suite 12	previous Chairman Charles F. Gruber		
Bay Minette, Alabama 36507			
Member of the Policy Committee			
Baldwin County Planning Director		**	**
(Jay Dickson replaced previous Planning Director Matthew Brown on 03/11/2024) Member of the Technical/Citizens Advisory Committee			
Baldwin County Engineer		**	**
(Frank Lundy replaced previous County Engineer Joey Nunnally on 06/20/2023)			
Member of the Technical/Citizens Advisory Committee			

SOUTH ALABAMA RURAL PLANNING ORGANIZATION (RPO) – Cont.

MEMBERS	APPOINTED/REAPPOINTED	TERM OF OFFICE	EXPIRATION DATE
Ann Simpson Baldwin Regional Area Transit System Director Member of the Technical/Citizens Advisory Committee	11/16/2021 (To replace previous BRATS Director Taylor Rider)	**	**
Stan Virden Post Office Box 475 Gulf Shores, Alabama 36547 Member of the Technical/Citizens Advisory Committee	Re-appointed 11/15/2011 term continuing from 05/01/2011	2 years	05/01/2013

^{*} Term continues for the respective terms of office for each Chairman of the Baldwin County Commission. (*Typically, term as Chairman expires the first Tuesday in November except in an election year, when the new Commission meets officially for the first time on the Tuesday, following election, i.e. the second Tuesday.*)

*REVISED: 11/07/2023 jb

^{**} Term continues for the respective period of service, to the Baldwin County Commission, as Director or Engineer.